Cresco is now in America. Explore Cresco Global →

Siniyah Island Area Guide 2026

A natural island off Umm Al Quwain being developed by Sobha Realty with Umm Al Quwain Properties. Phase 1 is a five billion dollar programme of roughly 8,000 homes targeted for December 2027. It is also a designated Key Biodiversity Area, and the ownership framework is materially weaker than Dubai. Read the last two sections before you buy.

Property type
Apartments, villas, duplexes
Developer
Sobha Realty with UAQ Properties
Status
Under construction, none handed over
Phase 1 target
December 2027
Access
Link bridge from mainland
Best for
Long horizon capital growth
Advertised prices in Siniyah Island
Live Cresco listings12
Listings showing a price12
Median entry price advertisedAED 1,220,000

Source: Cresco Real Estate live listings, rebuilt 20 September 2026. These are advertised entry prices, meaning the lowest price currently quoted on each listing. Many off plan listings quote a starting price rather than a price for a specific unit, so we do not publish an advertised price per square foot from this data. For price per square foot use the registered Dubai Land Department figures above, which come from completed sales.

What Siniyah Island is

Siniyah Island is a natural island, not reclaimed land, off the Umm Al Quwain coast, sheltering the Khor Al Beidah lagoon and reached by a single link bridge from near the E11.

Sobha Phase 1 is a five billion dollar programme of roughly 8,000 homes for more than 25,000 residents, targeted for completion in December 2027, arranged around an 18 hole golf course, a private marina and yacht club, two luxury resorts, two clubhouses and more than 12 km of coastline. Sobha own site describes 8 million square feet of land with 46 percent open green space and lagoons running over 5 km.

Products are grouped as Beach Residences, Marina Residences and Island Villas, covering studios to three bedroom apartments, two and three bedroom duplexes, and four to six bedroom villas and mansions.

Do not confuse this with Downtown UAQ. That is a separate Sobha mainland masterplan in Umm Al Quwain, a twenty billion dollar scheme across 25 million square feet. Sobha AquaCrest, five towers with a June 2029 handover, belongs to Downtown UAQ, not to the island.

Getting around

  • Dubai 50 minutes, a Sobha claim that does not specify which part of Dubai and does not account for E11 congestion.
  • Sharjah 30 minutes, a Sobha claim.
  • Al Marjan Island 10 minutes, a Sobha claim.
  • Access a single link bridge, described by Sobha as 1.7 km.

Every published drive time is developer sourced. There is no independent measurement. The bridge length itself is reported inconsistently at 1.2 km, 1.7 km and 2.5 km across different credible sources, which we could not resolve.

Ownership: the biggest open question

We are putting this above the amenities because it is the single largest unquantified risk in the deal.

Umm Al Quwain has no published general freehold law equivalent to Sharjah Law No. 2 of 2022 or Dubai Regulation No. 3 of 2006. Sobha Realty own community page does not state the tenure. Khaleej Times coverage does not mention freehold at all.

Gulf News reported in September 2018 that UAQ had recently declared the Royal Amwaj Resort as the first freehold project in the emirate, describing the legal framework as still in its infancy. Historically, freehold in UAQ has been granted project by project by government declaration rather than by a blanket statute.

Freehold claims for Siniyah Island appear on broker sites, not on Sobha own materials or in government publications that we could find. There is also no UAQ equivalent of Dubai RERA escrow regime and Oqood off plan registration that a buyer can point to publicly.

Obtain the specific Umm Al Quwain Department of Land and Property registration terms in writing before you transfer any money. Do not assume Dubai style freehold or Dubai style escrow protection.

Amenities and what is planned

Published by Sobha and reported by Khaleej Times: an 18 hole golf course, a private marina and yacht club, two luxury resorts, two clubhouses, water sports centres, a boardwalk with a retail boulevard, fine dining, parks, shopping, educational institutions, public and private beaches, and more than 12 km of coastline.

No hotel operator, no school and no hospital has been named by any credible source. All of the above is planned rather than delivered.

Prices and the investment picture

MeasureFigureSource and type
ApartmentsFrom 300,000 US dollars at launchKhaleej Times, November 2024
Four bedroom villasFrom 2.88 million US dollars at launchKhaleej Times, November 2024
Price per sq ftNot availableNo transaction history and no portal index exists
Rental yieldNot applicableNothing is complete, so no rental market exists
RentsNot applicableNo rental stock
Service chargeNot publishedSee the warning below

On service charge, apply judgement. Island infrastructure with a single bridge, a marina, a golf course and district cooling typically drives service charges well above mainland apartment norms, and there is no historic budget for a buyer to inspect. Ask for the anticipated figure in writing and treat it as anticipated, not committed.

What the developer does not tell you

It is a designated Key Biodiversity Area. BirdLife International published Al Siniyah designation in February 2026, recording one of the largest breeding colonies of the Socotra Cormorant, an IUCN Vulnerable species, alongside green turtles, dugongs, Arabian sand gazelles and the Near Threatened crab plover and white cheeked tern. It explicitly names urban and tourism development among the growing pressures on the island ecosystems. The island also holds a late antique Christian monastery and what has been reported as the UAE oldest pearling town. That combination creates real regulatory, phasing and reputational risk which does not appear in the sales material.

The master plan has been rewritten repeatedly and the published facts still do not reconcile. A 25 billion dirham, 53 million square foot Sobha and UAQ joint venture was announced in 2016 with first phase completion within three years, and did not happen. A different 2.47 billion dirham plan with 300 villas, 250 townhouses and 570 apartments was announced in December 2021. The current plan is a five billion dollar Phase 1 with 8,000 units. Land area appears variously as 1.5 square kilometres, 8 million square feet, 30 million square feet and 53 million square feet.

Everything is off plan and there is no completed comparable to inspect. Access is via a single bridge. Judge the December 2027 target against the history above.

Siniyah Island FAQs

Is Siniyah Island freehold?

This is genuinely unverified. Umm Al Quwain has no published general freehold statute, Sobha Realty own community page does not state the tenure, and freehold claims appear on broker sites rather than in government or developer publications. Historically UAQ has granted freehold project by project by government declaration. Obtain the registration terms from the Umm Al Quwain Department of Land and Property in writing before transferring any money.

When does Siniyah Island complete?

Sobha Phase 1 is targeted for completion in December 2027, per Khaleej Times reporting from November 2024, with building works scheduled to begin in the second quarter of 2025. No handover has occurred and no first handover date has been published. Given the project has been announced and re announced since 2016 with different plans each time, treat the target as a target.

How much does property on Siniyah Island cost?

Launch entry prices reported by Khaleej Times in November 2024 were from 300,000 US dollars for apartments and from 2.88 million US dollars for four bedroom villas. No price per square foot exists because there is no transaction history and no portal index for the community.

What rental yield does Siniyah Island offer?

None can be calculated. No units are complete, there is no rental market on the island and therefore no yield. Any yield quoted to you today is a projection.

Is Siniyah Island the same as Downtown UAQ?

No. Downtown Umm Al Quwain is a separate Sobha mainland masterplan of around 25 million square feet with its own phases, including Sobha AquaCrest with a June 2029 handover. Siniyah Island is the natural island scheme. They are frequently conflated in marketing and they are not the same project.

What environmental issues affect Siniyah Island?

BirdLife International designated Al Siniyah a Key Biodiversity Area in February 2026, citing one of the largest Socotra Cormorant breeding colonies, plus green turtles, dugongs and Arabian sand gazelles, and naming urban and tourism development among growing pressures. The island also contains a late antique Christian monastery and a historic pearling settlement. That creates regulatory and phasing risk that is not reflected in sales material.

Verified 18 August 2026. Project scale, pricing and timeline from Khaleej Times, Gulf News, The National and Sobha Realty, with developer claims labelled. Ownership context from Gulf News reporting on Umm Al Quwain freehold practice and from the absence of any published UAQ freehold statute. Environmental designation from BirdLife International, February 2026. Cresco Real Estate LLC, RERA ORN 34288. Not investment advice. Confirm every figure and the tenure independently before committing.

All properties A-Z